Skip to content

Saturday Musings

April 22, 2023

Some ramblings and thoughts on a Saturday:

  • It is raining and a miserable Saturday. Yet, I am warm and dry sitting in my Red Barn office – thinking and writing. Some random thoughts.
  • I sit in my office surrounded by piles and piles of books – my half-finished writings – cameras –guitars – a sleeping dog – etc. – etc. It is quiet and warm. It seems like the perfect place for me. So much to do – to sort – to organize – to evaluate – to pitch.
  • AND I SIT AND THINK AND DREAM
  • Like the old Holstein cow, I ruminate, and I masticate – eventually I will write.
  • Never forget that there is a child dying in India that is way smarter than you are.” ~Ross Perot
    • I’m not in Ukraine
    • I’m not in Turkey or Syria – at earthquake sites
    • I’m not in Sudan
  • Poets are the guardians of our language
  • Poets “torture” “stretch” “bend” “mold” language to explain the world
  • As I write poems – should I rewrite – restructure – search the correct word. Spend hours and days on a poem OR ?
  • Should I just write a stream of consciousness – word or thought poems that flow. Changing only the form or words that will help elucidate my meaning and intent. Quick – easy – flowing.
  • I light a candle that burns on my desk while I write. I enjoy the sent. It is part of my established routine – that must not be fucked with – and
    • “Ye are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hid” – The Gospel of Mathew.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment